How to start
What "start" actually means once your money is in rand
Starting to trade gold in South Africa splits into two separate checks, and they fail independently: whether the firm on the other side may legally hold your account, and whether the money rail you use to fund it is the one most local traders actually use. Get the first wrong and nothing else matters; get the second wrong and you lose a slice of every deposit and withdrawal to conversion and settlement time. The gold price itself — the live gold price, the gold price chart, the gold price today — is a third, purely market question, and no licence protects you from it.
Two companion pages: Is trading legal here and Deposits and withdrawals.
The licence check comes before the funding decision
Retail forex and CFD trading is legal and regulated in South Africa, with the Financial Sector Conduct Authority (FSCA) as conduct regulator. A broker serving South African retail clients must be an authorised Financial Services Provider under the FAIS Act. A broker acting as counterparty or market-maker issuing CFDs must additionally hold an OTC Derivative Provider authorisation under the Financial Markets Act, in force since 2018, which brings capital-adequacy and trade-reporting duties with it.
The practical move: use the free FSCA FSP register at https://www2.fsca.co.za/Fais/Search_FSP.htm and confirm the FSP number matches the broker's site. Two things get checked, not one — the FSP entry, and the ODP authorisation if the firm is writing the other side of your CFD. A firm that shows an FSP number but never mentions ODP status while issuing CFDs is the case worth slowing down on.
Note what the framework does not do: South Africa has no ESMA-style retail leverage cap. The rulebook sets authorisation and reporting duties, not a maximum multiple on your account. That means the sizing decision is yours, and nobody's regulator will make it for you.
Where rand deposits actually go
Instant EFT through open-banking gateways is the dominant local funding route — Ozow, Capitec Pay and SiD are the names you will meet. Deposits are usually instant and free; withdrawals typically take one to two business days. The local banks in that flow are FNB, Absa, Standard Bank, Nedbank and Capitec.
| Rail | Typical clearing | What it costs you |
|---|---|---|
| Instant EFT (Ozow, Capitec Pay, SiD) | Instant on deposit; 1–2 business days on withdrawal | Usually free |
| Card | 2–5 days | Not stated in the source |
| International SWIFT wire | 3–5 days | Not stated in the source |
A ZAR base account avoids the roughly 2–3% that banks charge converting ZAR into USD. That percentage is the quiet cost of holding a dollar-denominated account and funding it in rand: it is charged on the way in, and the same conversion logic applies on the way out. Whether it is worth paying depends on whether you actually need the account denominated in dollars.
These figures are marked for verification in the source material, so treat the timings as typical rather than contractual — a specific broker's own schedule is what binds it.
The mistake that shows up at the wrong moment
The common error is treating the payment gateway as evidence of authorisation. A broker can process Instant EFT flawlessly and still be the wrong firm to send money to; the rail tells you nothing about the licence. The reverse also happens — a properly authorised firm with a clunky funding page gets abandoned for a slicker one that is not on the register.
The second error is opening a USD account without deciding what that costs. The 2–3% conversion charge is small per deposit and compounds across every top-up and withdrawal. Decide the account currency deliberately, on the basis of what you are trading and how often you move money, rather than accepting the default on the signup form.
The third is assuming a leverage cap exists because one exists elsewhere. It does not here. Position sizing on gold — whether you are watching the gold price usd quote or a gold price chart — is entirely your call, and the loss that follows an oversized position is not something the conduct regulator can reverse.
Reader questions
Does the FSP number alone mean a broker can hold my CFD account?
No. The FSP authorisation under the FAIS Act is the baseline, and a firm acting as counterparty or market-maker issuing CFDs needs the separate OTC Derivative Provider authorisation under the Financial Markets Act as well. Check both, and check the FSP number on the register against the number on the broker's own site.
Why does my rand deposit arrive in dollars?
Because the account is denominated in USD while you fund it in ZAR, and the bank applies a conversion charge of roughly 2–3% on that move. A ZAR base account avoids that charge. The trade-off is a decision about your account structure, not about the broker's licence.
Are Instant EFT withdrawals as fast as the deposits?
No. Deposits through the open-banking gateways are usually instant and free, while withdrawals typically take one to two business days. Card and SWIFT timelines are longer still, so plan around the withdrawal leg rather than the deposit leg.
Is there a maximum leverage I can use on gold?
No ESMA-style retail leverage cap applies in South Africa, so no regulator-set ceiling limits your position size. The capital-adequacy and trade-reporting duties sit with the broker, not with your sizing decision.